Letterpress List No. 12: Jingle-Jangled

It is NOT the most wonderful time of the year to be part of Mary’s central nervous system. Oh, sure, it’s busy around the printshop. What’s new there? And there’s a holiday studio party to plan for Typecast Press and Chris Hartlove, our photographer suitemate. And Mary’s parents, sister and brother-in-law arrive for Christmas, bringing all sorts of, um, personal readjustment issues. (OK, on Shop Boy’s end, too.) Then there are gifts to arrange for clients and friends, mall madness, parties to attend …

And Shop Boy’s holiday iPod list!

Call me mawkish. Call me tacky. Call me strange. Just don’t call me when I’ve got the halls loudly decked with boughs of holly jolly. I can’t hear your negativity right now. I’m in my own winter wonderland. Baby, it’s cold outside, but not where Shop Boy’s standing.

Mary: “I don’t get it, Shop Boy.”

Shop Boy: “What’s to get? Can’t you hear what I hear?”

Mary: “Yes, I can. So can everyone within a 10-block radius. Turn it down.”

Shop Boy: “Jeez, what’s eating you? Grandma get run over by a reindeer or something?”

See, if you ask me, Mary just needs a little Christmas, like, right this very minute. So here goes …

Letterpress List No. 12

At Mary’s request (ouch, a lump of coal just hit me in the head), Shop Boy presents more than an hour’s worth of holiday music. Surrender to it — might just be the best stretch of your day.

Ready, Rudolph?

Ready, Santa!

Rudolph the Red-Nosed ReindeerGene Autry (Feels so right.)
Frosty the Snowman
Los Straitjackets (Beyond words.)
Let It Snow
Dean Martin (But don’t drive in it after popcorn and a couple of cocktails.)
Father Christmas
the Kinks (Visions of sugarplums and brass knuckles.)
A Holly Jolly Christmas
Burl Ives (Have a cup of cheer? Yes, I believe I will.)
It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
Andy Williams (Right, Mary? Sorry, she just ran screaming out of the room.)
Santa Baby
Eartha Kitt (All I want is my two front teeth? Forget that. She wants bling.)
Only 364 More Shopping Days ‘Til Christmas
Cletus T. Judd (How much time Santa’s gonna need to fill Ms. Kitt’s list.)
Little Saint Nick
Beach Boys (Santa’s sweet ride.)
Christmas Wrapping
the Waitresses (They know what Shop Boys like.)
Please Come Home for Christmas
the Eagles (Crying guitar cinches it.)
Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
Nat King Cole (Believe, hon. That’s a Baltimorism. So’s this.)
Blue Christmas
Elvis Presley (I’ll be so ba-loo just thinking a-ba-ba-bout you.)
Feliz Navidad Jose Feliciano (First Spanish words Shop Boy ever heard. A college roommate, from Puerto Rico, filled in the blankety-blanks.)
2000 Milesthe Pretenders (Great version on the link.)
Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
Brenda Lee (Its success brought both good and bad to the holiday music scene. See Setzer, Brian.)
Same Old Lang Syne
Dan Fogelberg (Wistfully yours this holiday season.)
Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
Bruce Springsteen (No pouting, Shop Boy.)
Peace on Earth
Mahalia Jackson (Shh. Just listen.)
I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas
Bing Crosby (Ah, global warming.)
You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch
Thurl Ravenscroft (Grrrrreeeat song! He’s the dude who did Tony the Tiger.)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

